Which aviation medical do you need?

Which aviation medical do you need?

Unsure which medical examination you need to be clear for takeoff? Whether you’re an aspiring pilot, an experienced flight attendant, or a critical crew member, ensuring you’re fit to fly is paramount, but navigating the medical requirements and making sure that you meet them is a tricky process. At Heathrow Medical, we offer comprehensive medical assessments that meet the standards of multiple aviation authorities, so let’s explore which aviation medical you need to keep your career on the right trajectory. 

UK CAA Class 1 & EASA Class 1 Medicals 

Your first step to becoming a commercial pilot is an initial Class 1 Medical – either a CAA or an EASA, depending upon where you will be working. This Medical Certificate is indispensable, as it verifies a pilot’s physical and mental fitness to safely operate a commercial aircraft, but the main difference lies in the regulatory authority and the regions where the certifications are valid. So, let’s explore which one you need. 

Aspiring and current commercial pilots need a UK CAA Class 1 Medical if they intend to operate in the UK, ensuring they meet the Civil Aviation Authority’s health standards, whilst the EASA Medical is required for those wishing to fly in EU member states in accordance with the European Union Aviation Safety Agency’s criteria.  

If you need one of these medicals to achieve your pilot’s licence, then our accredited Aero-Medical Centre is here to provide essential initial medicals for aspiring pilots, so make sure you demonstrate your commitment to safety and regulatory adherence by booking your appointment today 

If you require any further information regarding these medicals, have any questions, or would like to know what they entail, find all the answers you need here 

UK CAA Class 2,3 & EASA Class 2 Medicals 

These certificates are essential for private and commercial pilots involved in non-commercial operations. A UK CAA Class 2 Medical is intended for private pilots, ensuring they meet the necessary standards for non-commercial flying, whilst a Class 3 Medical is specifically for air traffic controllers and focuses on the unique health requirements relevant to their roles.  

Similarly to the Class 1’s, EASA Class 2’s are needed for private pilots operating in EU member states. The main differences lie in the regulatory authorities and specific regions where the certifications are valid, as well as the requirements of each aviation role, so if you have any questions, find the answers here 

Our team of certified aviation medical examiners is committed to helping aviation professionals uphold their medical fitness in line with industry regulations, so once you have decided upon which examination is needed for your career, book yourself in for an appointment today 

FAA Class 1,2,3 Medicals 

In the United States, the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) offers three types of medical certificates for pilots and aviation professionals: Class 1, Class 2, and Class 3. Each class has distinct eligibility criteria and examination requirements:  

  1. FAA Class 1 Medicals are required for all airline transport pilots, ensuring they meet the highest health standards.  
  2. FAA Class 2 Medicals are necessary for commercial pilots, focusing on maintaining their fitness for commercial operations.  
  3. FAA Class 3 Medicals are for private pilots and recreational flyers, confirming they are fit to operate non-commercial aircraft.  

Each class ensures that aviation personnel meet specific health requirements relevant to their roles and responsibilities, and we offer all three at our AMC. So, find out everything you need to know about what to expect from your appointment, and make your booking today 

If you are based in Canada, then we also perform all CAME medicals to certify your health standards and to maintain your operational status. 

CASA Medicals 

In Australia, those who work in aviation must have a current medical certificate to use their licences. The Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) provides three classes of aviation medicals that depends on the licence type and the permitted activities, which are: 

  1. CASA Class 1 Medicals, which are required for commercial pilots and airline transport pilots, ensuring they meet the highest health standards.  
  2. CASA Class 2 Medicals, which focus upon non-commercial flying fitness, and are needed for a recreational pilot licence, a private pilot licence, and a commercial pilot (balloon) licence. 
  3. CASA Class 3 Medicals, which must have to receive an air traffic control licence, or if you are a flight service officer. 

When receiving or renewing your certification, our team will evaluate your health, assess any medications that you are using, and note any special considerations. The CASA will then determine your eligibility for a certificate, so make your appointment and secure your licence today 

GACA (KSA) Aero Medicals 

In the Saudi Arabian civic aviation sector, the General Authority of Civil Aviation (GACA) requires aviation professionals to undergo regular aero medical examinations to ensure their health and fitness. These medicals, known as GACA Aero Medicals, are categorised into different classes based on the specific requirements of various aviation roles, and at our centre, we are equipped to perform all classes of medical.  

If you require a GACA medical to certify that you are fit to perform your duties safely, then you should create an account with GACA, who will then email you the details you need to complete your application online before you visit our AMC.  

If you require a DCA aviation medical to certify your fitness for duty in Mauritius, then we also offer a range of Department of Civil Aviation medicals in our AMC.  

Our Aviation Medicals 

We are dedicated to ensuring the health and safety of the aviation sector, and the safety of everyone who travels the skies. With our range of medicals, you can rely upon our team to obtain or renew the certifications that you need to safely perform your duties, so explore our full range of medicals today 

Aviation Medicals
Previous reading
How to prepare for your HGV medical renewal
Next reading
Which aviation medical do you need?